skip navigation

04 Boys McManaman Take Indy Burn Cup Championship

04/16/2018, 8:00am CDT
By Daniel Olstad

The 04 Boys McManaman took top spot at the 2018 Indy Burn Cup

The 2004 Boys McManaman squad spent the weekend fighting against teams on the field and the weather surrounding the 2018 Indy Burn Cup to claim the tournament championship.  A rain soaked two days and teams from Indiana and Wisconsin could not slow down the boys quick passing and counter attacking as they outscored opponents 12-2 en route to the championship.

Saturday morning saw the boys kick off the tournament against Indy Premier in steady rain on an already rain soaked and slick field.  The boys got off to a quick start through a goal from Henry Brink only to be hit back a couple minutes later by Indy Premier.  With the score level at 1 about midway through the first half a Harry Pardo corner went all the way through the box where Matthew Graham hit a first time strike back into the far corner from outside the box that would be worthy of any highlight reel to put LFC IA St. Louis up 2-1.  Indy Premier would again find the net before half time to put the score at 2-2.

After halftime LFC saw a number of chances just miss with Jacob Park hitting the post and putting a couple other chances just over top. During a scrum off a Carter Spellman free kick which the goal keeper saved but could not control; Jack Heater hit the cross bar and Devon Bartholet had his header cleared off the line and the score would remain 2-2 for the final.

In their Saturday afternoon game the boys faced Michiana Echo and scored early and often, jumping out to an early 1-0 lead in the 3rd minute through a Jacob Park goal.  The boys would go on to top Michiana 7-0 without goalkeeper Oscar Franklin having to make a single save on the afternoon.  Jacob Park, Carter Spellman, and Jack Heater each scored a pair of goal with Henry Brink adding one.

Sunday morning was due to see the boys play their final group game but a steady overnight rain, which continued into and through the morning, saw that game canceled. Sitting atop the group the boys were pushed into the final that  afternoon against Kenosha Crew SC of Wisconsin.

After all the rain Saturday night and Sunday morning the field conditions were less than optimal for the final.  Standing water sat in the middle of the field and the field was slick and muddy.  The boys were not detered though.  Prior to the final the boys paid tribute to the 96 victims of the Hillsborough Disaster with a minute of silence and after that came out firing.

From the kick off the boys were on top and slick passing moves and counter attacks were on show, as well as some top defending from the back 4 that included Peter Marsh, Charlie Esson, Logan Storck, Theo Sharp and Jack Heater.

It took until the 20th minute to break through but a nice through ball saw Henry Brink in on goal to poke home to give LFC a 1-0 lead which they took into half time.  In the second half LFC came out again the dominant team and doubled their lead through a thunderous strike from Brink from 25 yards out into the upper corner of the goal.

Kenosha was never truly able to threaten Franklin in goal, having to only make 1 save off a long distance effort.  LFC put the game away in the final minute and Brink finished off his hat trick when Matthew Graham intercepted a pass and broke through into the box to square across the front of goal for Brink to tap home.

After the Indy Cup victory McManaman are now unbeaten over 5 games in all competitions and head into this coming weekends Lou Fusz Spring Invitational brimming with confidence.


Indy Burn Cup Scorers

Name Goals
Henry Brink 5
Jacob Park 2
Carter Spellman 2
Jack Heater 2
Matthew Graham 1


2004 Boys McManaman

On the 29th Anniversary of the Hillsborough Disaster the boys paid tribute with a minute of silence prior to the kickoff of the Indy Burn Cup Final.

Tag(s): Home